Meet our team of hard-working, dedicated Councillors and the Cranbrook Town Council staff who support them.

Cllr Les Bayliss

Les spent most of his working life prior to taking early retirement in 2010 in the fire service, initially as a firefighter in the Royal Air Force followed by some 34 years as a fire officer at Exeter Airport, where he ended his career as the Fire Service and Risk Management Manager. He moved from Honiton to Cranbrook in April 2017 and feels it offers the potential to become a town of excellence, a town for the future and a town for all – young and old. He looks forward to being a part of the community and in a position to help it thrive.

Cllr Matt Bayliss

Matt currently works within major national infrastructure projects specialising as an Environmental Scientist and Chartered Environmentalist. Matt and his wife moved to Cranbrook in 2021 from Southampton, seeking a slower pace of life and a scenic place to raise their little boy. Matt hopes to put his expertise to good use to support Cranbrook in its journey of sustainable development to provide a thriving town for everyone to enjoy.

Cllr Kevin Blakey

Kevin is a native of Exeter and moved to Cranbrook in 2012. He works in the photoelectronics industry in Exeter. He was Chairman of the Town Council from its inception in 2015 until 2019, when he stepped down to allow more time after he was also elected as one of Cranbrook’s three district councillors. He remains an active member of the Town Council and is keen to see the commercial and social development of the town, particularly in the town centre.

Cllr Kim Bloxham

Kim has been helping the community since she moved to Cranbrook in 2013. She has established working relationships with partners including developers, Eon, Utilities, the Office of the Police & Crime Commissioner and the local Policing team. She was elected as one of Cranbrook's first District Councillors as an Independent member in 2019 and successfully stood for re-election in 2023. Kim's vision is for Cranbrook to be recognised by all as a successful vibrant town with an engaging, friendly community.

Cllr Ray Bloxham

Ray is a former Detective Inspector. His police career spanned 30 years during which he investigated all types of crime including murder, child abuse, commercial fraud and corruption. He retired from the police service in 1998, moved to East Devon soon after and has lived in Cranbrook since 2013. He has been in local government for the past 25 years, as a parish, town, district and county councillor and brings this experience to the Town Council. He wants to ensure that Cranbrook is a successful and vibrant town whilst being sensitive to and recognising the needs of the surrounding rural communities.

Cllr Colin Buchan

Colin retired after a 34-year career as a dentist. He moved to Cranbrook in August 2016 and was attracted to serving on a new Council because he was excited by the "blank canvass" with so much to do. He hopes his experience in the healthcare sector is of use to the community.

Cllr James Gill

James has been a resident of Cranbrook since the early stages of Phase1 and is ambitious to drive forward the future plans for the town.

Cllr Lisa Goudie

"My name is Lisa Goudie, and I have been a resident of Cranbrook since 2014. During my time here, I have taken the initiative to organise support groups for local residents who have faced discrimination due to their personal views and opinions on local and national issues. My unwavering passion for justice, people, and animal welfare motivates me to strive for a better community that aligns with the Nolan principles of public life. I am excited to collaborate with individuals who share my values and dedication to our town. I am eager to establish strong relationships with fellow councillors who are committed to working together towards a common objective. I would like to clarify that I have no conflicts of interest or affiliations with any planning associations."

Cllr Sam Hawkins

Sam grew up in Exeter and moved to Cranbrook in 2016. He is currently working for a firm of chartered accountants based on the Exeter Business Park and is looking to use some of these skills to aid the community. Sam is excited about the future of the town and is keen to be a part of helping it to grow and thrive.

Cllr Vincent Wilton

Vince is passionate about finding ways to make things happen which help bring communities together. Vince wants to help residents understand how the Town Council fits into the future of Cranbrook. Vince has a background running businesses which serve a wide range of customer types and plenty of experience working with and between parish, town, district and county councils and is familiar with the complexities involved in making progress. With that in mind, Vince wants to help engage residents with the Town Council and help champion and promote the good in Cranbrook, using the business and technology backgrounds for the benefit of the Town Council and everyone in the community.


If you'd like to serve as a town councillor, we'd love to hear from you. Please contact us on tel. 01404 514552 or email


If you'd like to serve as a town councillor, we'd love to hear from you. Please contact us on tel. 01404 514552 or email

Town Council Employees

Janine Gardner
Town Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer

The Town Clerk is the Council’s Proper Officer and as such is under a statutory duty to carry out all the functions required by law of a local authority, including serving statutory notifications, advising the Council to enable evidence-based decision-making and implementing decisions. The post holder is also the Council’s Responsible Financial Officer.

Alexandra Robinson
Deputy Clerk

The Deputy Clerk deputises in the absence of the Town Clerk and is responsible for the Amenities and Planning Committees, among other things.

Rebecca Boyle
Office Administrator

Rebecca provides administrative support to the Town Council and is the first point of contact for members of the public, customers and tenants.

Sophie Anderson
Property Administrator

Sophie is in charge of the management of the Council's properties, including bookings for the main hall and the meeting rooms in the Younghayes Centre.

Lydia Chan
Finance Officer

Lydia fulfills all the back-office functions relating to finance, including invoicing, financial returns and credit control.

Andrew Chapman-New

Andrew is responsible for the management and maintenance of every piece of public open space in Cranbrook which is owned by the Town Council, including the Country Park, verges, hedgerows, sports pitches and sustainable urban drainage features – and the improvement of those areas.

Ingrida Ennis

Ingrida is responsible for Housekeeping at the Younghayes Centre.

Our Vision

  • Our Five-Year Business Plan 2023-28